Within Stanford’s vast collection of iconic historic buildings, Knapp Architects consults on and prepares documents for various maintenance projects.
Pigott Hall, forming what is known as Language Corner of the Main Quad, houses various departments for literature, language and cultural studies. It contains offices, conference and seminar rooms. It is part of the original campus core. Knapp Architects prepared drawings for revised egress through the building to remove a fire escape and restore affected conditions on the north façade.
The Knoll was constructed in 1918, as the home of the University President. By1946, it housed the Music Department and from 1986 to the present, it has been the Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics. The building contains classrooms, offices, meeting rooms and collaborative spaces. Its eclectic cast concrete and stucco façade is wrapped with large glazed openings that flood the building with light and air. Knapp Architects prepared construction documents for the rehabilitation of historic doors and windows, involving detailed wood restoration and new functional hardware compatible with the existing character.