Completed in 1900, the Presidio Visitors Center is a one-story (with basement) brick building at the north end of the Main Post. Originally a jail, it had later been divided into a bank branch and post office. The Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy, Golden Gate National Recreation Area, and Presidio Trust collaborated to fund and manage conversion of the building into a visitors center. The building is ideal in its centralized location so that visitors can orient themselves and learn about the Presidio of San Francisco. The interior retains the basic original division of spaces with contemporary interventions. Knapp Architects evaluated existing conditions and consulted with the project team about the sensitivity of existing features and the compatibility of new interventions.